The Staple of Fall Desserts: PUMPKIN

img_5790-2

It is the third week in October which means Fall is in full swing.  With fall comes the emergence of everything pumpkin flavored.  While I am not a fan of everything containing pumpkin, I do love pumpkin flavored desserts.  Last week, my team and I went to Rochester to play RIT and for the occasion I decided to try out a pumpkin muffin recipe.  I found a recipe for Pumpkin Streusel Muffins at Gimme Some Oven and I just had to try out the recipe. Here is the link for the recipe.

The Friday before we left I got all the ingredients together and made the muffins.  Here is how the Pumpkin Streusel Muffins came together.

img_5764-2

I combined my dry ingredients of flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and salt into a medium sized bowl. Then I mixed my wet ingredients of pumpkin, butter, eggs, and vanilla to a large bowl.  I slowly added my dry ingredients into large bowl with the wet ingredients to make the mix for the muffins.  I add my personal touch on the muffins I added chopped, toasted pecans to the mix.

img_5769-2

 

Once all of the muffin mix had been evenly placed in the muffin tin, I added the streusel.  The streusel was a mix of softened butter, sugar, flour, cinnamon, and my personal touch of chopped, toasted pecans.  I added a generous amount of streusel to each of the individual muffins before they were placed in the oven to begin baking.

img_5778-2

 

The muffins came out looking and smelling amazing and that was even before the glaze was added.  I wanted to eat them right away but they needed to cool before I would be able to add the glaze. I was able to make 17 muffins which meant that all the players on the roster were able to have one if they wanted/ could eat a muffin (allergies and diets).

img_5787-2

 

Once the muffins were cooled to room temperature, I sprinkled the glaze on the muffins.  The glaze contained melted butter, powdered sugar, and milk.  The glaze presentation is not the best, due to the difficulty of working in the limited kitchen of a college student, but it tasted great which is what matters the most.

 

I offered the muffins to all my teammates and coaches on the bus the next morning and they were a huge success.  Everyone who was able to eat them loved the muffins and I left the bus with only two which I brought back to my family who also loved them.   I thank Gimme Some Oven for a great recipe because the Pumpkin Streusel Muffins were delicious and perfect for a fall weekend dessert

Leave a Reply

